Home » What Is Yoga And What Is The Real Meaning Of Yoga?

What Is Yoga And What Is The Real Meaning Of Yoga?

by admin
What Is The Real Meaning Of Yoga

yoga is a complete science in itself, The word “Yoga” is taken from the Sanskrit root ‘yuj’, which means union of individual consciousness or soul with universal consciousness or spirit.

Yoga is a five-thousand-year-old style of Indian knowledge known in ancient Indian philosophy as the practice of mind and body. Which unites body, mind, soul, and universe. Different Aasans of yoga, combine your body’s physical postures, breathing techniques, and meditation or relaxation.

However, so many consider yoga as just a physical exercise, In which people use complex ways of twisting, stretching, and breathing the body. The meaning of yoga is much bigger than all of these. The full essence of lifestyle has been assimilated into the science of Yoga.

In recent years, yoga has carved a niche in the whole world as a form of physical exercise and today it has become popular around the world that promotes better control and well-being of the mind and body.

There are many different types of yoga practice. Yoga and many other disciplines. With the help of this article, let us shed light on the history of yoga, various postures, benefits, and disadvantages.


What is Yoga

Yoga is not only a science, it is not a science as well as an art. It is a science because our body provides practical ways to control our minds and our emotions. And unless yoga is practiced instinctively and sensitively, it will give only superficial results hence it is also an art. Yoga is not just a system based on beliefs, but it takes into account the effect of body and mind on each other and provides them with mutual harmony.

Many people suffer from many mental problems as a result of the stress and interactions of everyday life. Yoga may not provide immediate treatment, but it is a proven method to combat them.

In the last century, hatha yoga (which is just one type of yoga) became very popular and popular. But the awareness about the true meaning and complete knowledge of yoga is now increasing continuously.


Scriptures of Yoga: Patanjali Yoga Sutras

The Yoga Sutras are the basic texts of Yoga. It is one of the seven philosophies and a treatise on the Yoga Shastras. The Yoga Sutras were composed by Patanjali before 3000 years. For this, the material already existing in this subject was also used.

In the Yoga Sutras, there is a law to concentrate the mind and merge it with God. According to Patanjali, yoga is to prevent the tendencies of the mind from becoming fickle (chittavrutti nirodhah). That is, not allowing the mind to wander here and there, keeping it fixed in only one thing is yoga.

Patanjali has considered the five types of Vrittis of the mind, which he named ‘Chitta Bhoomi’. He has said that yoga cannot take place in the first three minds, only in the last two. In these two lands, there can be two types of yoga, Sampragyata, and Asampragyata.


Why is International Yoga Day Celebrated on 21st June?

There is no definite reason for this, but it has been said by some scholars that the reason behind celebrating International Yoga Day on 21st June is that the day is longer than 21st June. On this day the sun rises early and sets late.

It is hot on this day. And some scholars have to say that Shiva had given sermons to his disciples on the summer solstice. June 21 is the longest day in the northern hemisphere, which can also be called the summer solstice.

After the summer solstice, the Sun becomes Dakshinayan and the time of Dakshinayan of the Sun is considered very beneficial in attaining spiritual accomplishments.

“Frequently Asked Questions” FAQ’s

What are the parts/stages of yoga Nidra?

There are eight stages of Yoga Nidra and four are essential. The first phase, which is required, is the “settlement” phase or internalization.

  • Part 1 |Settling or Initial Relaxation.
  • Part 2 |Intention, Sankalpa.
  • Part 3 |Body Rotation or Rotation of Consciousness.
  • Part 4 |Breath and Energy Awareness.
  • Part 5 |Sense Perception.
  • Part 6 |Visualization.
  • Part 7 |Sankalpa.
  • Part 8 |Externalization:


Follow Us & Subscribe to our Newsletter for more

Related Articles